AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

don't worry, be happy!

still feeling very rough, but did a couple of hours easy cataloguing at New Lanark this morning, then took the train into Glasgow to take the camera to the lovely people at A J Johnstone - 'photographic engineers'. They had already emailed me with a rough estimate of the cost of the repair, but are going to do a full report for the insurance company, at absolutely no cost!!

me: sounds as if it might cost almost as much to repair as it would be to buy a new one

nice un-named young man: yes, it could be, see what the cost comes to, then check out Jessops (?) or John Lewis to see what a new one costs.

me: so - let me get this right - you spend your time to check out this camera, write me a report and if I then decide to just bite the bullet and get a new one, you get nothing out of it?

nuym: well, yes, if you decide not to go ahead with the repair.

me: that doesn't seem right, I am happy to pay for the damage report if I decide not to go ahead with the repair.

nuym: no - that's OK, it is the service we offer.

me: gosh! well I will be sure to give you a good plug on blipfoto then!

nuym: looking a little quizzically ok. and if you don't get it repaired you can always sell it on ebay as people do buy damaged cameras for the parts.

so there you have it. old fashioned good service does still exist!!!

was I dizzy with the shock, or because I was sneezing so much? I retreated to a lovely quiet bookshop with a cafe just around the corner for a stiff black coffee and a wee bit of cake. This was the a lovely wall decoration - it has a mirrored edge that reflected the glass cupola but it was the phrase - repeated randomly - that seemed to sum up the last few days 'who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life'

by the time I got back to the train station I was knackered and decided it was madness to even think of an hour's body combat - so I rang and cancelled. another £2 down the drain!! (cancellation fee). so another hot bath and a good book await!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.