AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

attempt at painting

One of the things I wanted to do with my retirement was to find creative activities and interests that would stimulate the right side of my brain. At school I was made to study Latin instead of art and music and have always felt myself to be not very creative or artistic. At the end of 2008, on a whim, I signed up for an on-line watercolour painting course, not wanting to show myself up by attending a class with real people! The course was in 32 parts, and you printed off the lessons each fortnight, and worked through them, with video tutorials and email support.

Thinking about this weeks challenge 'attempt', I remembered about my attempts at painting. I only got to about lesson 8 of the course, then in June 2009 my stepson Iain got sick and life just went on hold for almost a year. I did plan to get back to it, but - as is often the way - it went on the back burner, as I found the whole process of painting rather daunting and wasn't very good at it.

I am finding the photography almost, but not quite, as daunting because at least I don't have to paint the scene, just record it in some kind of creative way.

This is my last attempt at painting - a still life. Looking at it now, I don't think it is all that bad! I fully intend to get back to the painting at some point. Like the photography, I reckon I have about another good 20 years to get to grips with it! And who cares how good you are, as long as you enjoy it.

I am feeling a bit better today, but still very heady. This afternoon I have the joys of a root canal filling at the dentist!


update: the challenge is 'attract' not attempt! I blame the cold. thinking cap on again. dentist went fine apart from the bill!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.