Flower Friday. : : Knipfofia

...otherwise known as 'Red Hot Pokers". We have planted a lot of them near the blue echium in hopes that they will grow together to make a nice substitute for the highly flammable lavender.  I have now gotten obsessed with the possibilities of my iPhone camera. This was taken in Portrait mode. I think they are good examples of the drought tolerant, somewhat desert-like plants that do best here. I've put another one in extras of a flowering spike on an agave-like plant. My phone, which is so brilliant at different photographic modes, is clueless as to what kind of plant it is...I had to crop it for extras so it wouldn't appear sideways, so I couldn't show the spiky bottom....

The Supreme Court has done it. I really didn't believe that they would actually do it. I am, of course, furious that women's rights have been eroded in this fashion, but proud to be living in a state which has formed a coalition with Oregon and Washington to continue to offer women's health care, including abortion, and is organizing to find ways of supporting women and girls  in other states (26 of them) who have been deprived of the right to make decisions over what happens to their own  bodies. But they can still buy a gun....

I despair....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.