One of these People....

...is not like the others.
We both felt in need of another cup of coffee after taking Spike on his ramble this morning so we went to Trail House which was heaving with cyclists congregating outside for a cycle run to Annadel State Park. They were organizing themselves into groups according to ability, milling around the outside tables. Spike and I repaired to a couple of Adirondack chairs in a corner, and John went inside to acquire some coffee. It took some time as there were only two people, one of whom was making food. I went in to wait for the other one to make my latte and was struck by all the guys beavering away behind the bicycle repair counter. I'm not sure what the lady in pink was doing but she acted like she belonged and had the attention of some of the others. She also made a nice contrast....

I woke up at five o'clock this morning and never went back to sleep again. As a result I have been sort of sleep walking all day. Probably why I'm feeling more than a little depressed about the state of the world in general and the state of this country in particular. I can't bear to listen to all the speculation about where we are all headed, but I can't imagine that it is a very good place. I always thought of the Supreme Court as the inviolate arbiters of the law, not the political hacks the majority have become....

I spent the morning making ice cream bars with a pretzel crust and a layer of roasted peanuts topped with a chocolate ganache to take to friends' house for dinner. I even managed to find gluten free pretzels, well, John did, for Gail. Now two problems remain...getting the ice cream bars out of the pan, and finding a way to transport them  across town without melting. We have a cooler but it is too small to fit the whole pan, so the bars will have to come out of the pan to fit in the cooler. 

If only the problems of the world were as simple....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.