Living my dream

By Mima

New supplies

Now that the hens are laying six eggs a day I have an increasing need for egg boxes. Some barterees return the empties but most don’t, despite my repeated reminders. As a result my stocks have been dwindling.

So I was delighted to get home from a walk today to find this small pile of egg boxes on the table from an anonymous contributor.

Bean has an egg every night in her dinner: hard boiled half the time, raw the other half. Between us we eat 12 a week. That leaves two and a half dozen to barter, unless I’m baking a lemon drizzle cake. People love fresh happy eggs, so I never have any problem distributing them.

It was warmer today so I spent most of it in the garden. More compost has been shifted. The tunnel house and the beans bed have been completely cleared of last season’s plants, which have been shredded and composted.

Between the different tasks we had two walks. Bean didn’t seem to mind.

This evening gentle rain is falling, which is very welcome. But we need a lot more than this. Everything is very dry and I have begun a watering rota of the flower beds, the overwintering brassica bed, and the recently planted trees: something I’ve never done in June before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.