Living my dream

By Mima

Bending my brain

I spent the morning in the study getting to grips with options for the internal layout of the new cabin.

There are two potential sizes. The larger is my preference, but it might be too expensive. I should find out next week.

To reassure myself that the smaller, simpler cabin would be acceptable (i.e. everything will fit) I got out paper, ruler, pencil, rubber and my table of cupboard measurements (assuming that all the cupboards in the truck will be moved to the new cabin).

It took me two and a half hours to work out a layout which satisfies me. There was a lot of thought required, and even more rubbing out and re-drawing of lines.

There is bound to be software available which would enable me to do it in the blink of an eye on the computer, but I’m a happy luddite in this situation and I love the process of drawing it myself at a slow pace.

Of course as soon as I stopped to take Bean for a walk I suddenly thought of a really simple tweak which would give me more flexibility with the space. That’ll wait for another day…

Tomorrow I’m taking a friend to Queenstown Airport and there is afternoon snow forecast on the Lindis Pass, so it’ll be a long trip home on the Pig Route…hoping that the snow doesn’t fall there as well. I’ve packed an emergency box just in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.