Tidy tunnel!

I spent most of the day sorting the poly tunnel. It doesn't have the window yet but I needed to get some tomatoes and cucumbers out of the growing room as it had become so overcrowded in there. I cleared the ground of most of the weeds, then laid down an old carpet which will hopefully kill them off completely. Next year I should be able to remove the carpet and use the ground for growing too. The sun was out and it was up to 48° in there at some points and mostly over 40°. I stepped outside a few times to have a breather which meant I could keep going and get it ready for the plants. We are forecast over 40mph winds in Sunday so I'm keeping my fingers crossed it will all stay intact! The tomatoes have lots of flowers but no fruit yet but the cucumbers are already in evidence! See extras. It rained later in the afternoon which was great to fill the water butts, which were almost dry, and water the other young plants in the ground. Barry carried water down to the poly tunnel as I can't carry the watering can down the slope with my dodgy knee! He has ordered some new water containers which he will run hose pipes from to reach the awkward places in the garden. Hopefully they won't take too long to arrive. I'm was going to try and get my bean plants in tomorrow after the morning at the village hall, but maybe I'll wait until after the weekend and avoid the gales!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.