Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Selva, Val Gardena, Then and Now

It was a travelling day for us but I couldn't resist one more chance to capture the grandeur of the area.  There was an old image, probably taken about 100 years ago, in the hotel so I tried to find where it had been taken from to do one of my old and new composites.

Sadly I couldn't quite make it to the spot where the photo was taken, it was private land and so I had to go slightly above, where a road crossed.  The main parts of the image that hadn't changed were the Sella Massif, in the background, the church spire, though I think that the church has been rebuilt around it, and the railway line which, though it was removed in the 1960s is still the line of a road and path that goes through the valley for the use of walkers and cyclists.

As far as travelling home, it was uneventful, a 2two and a half hour journey to the airport, two hour flight and an old friend picked us up and brought us home.

A lovely holiday, such amazing scenery and some good memories of a very special place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.