Wings over Sychnant

My quest for winged creatures continues.  Today I’m focusing on  ‘my’ special lake at Sychnant - surely I’ll find dragons here. In a patch of sunlight, I find myself  watching the waters, absorbing that wonderful silence of nature. G has gone walking over the hills leaving me to enjoy the peace - though it’s broken by a group of disgruntled D of E walkers who have obviously misread their maps and have to retrace their steps. They trundle past, heads down, knowing the next shower’s not far away. 

The water’s still, and even after watching for a while, I only catch a fleeting glimpse of a chaser. There are flitting stonechats, annoyingly unwilling to perch unless in the secretive midst of bushes or bracken. 

Then suddenly there’s a heron, flying in to stand amidst the cotton grass. He’s gorgeous, just his neck standing high above the vegetation. But of course, just as I move to take a shot, he’s spooked and off he flies. I manage just one shot before he lifts off the ground - but he’s a long way off and it’s not as crisp as I’d have liked. Still, I follow his flight as he soars over the heather-clad hills and off to find a quieter place. 

Thank you for your kind reassurances about comments. I’m honestly OK with falling behind at times - but I do like to catch up. Equally, I must admit to being slightly ‘blipped out’ after two almost consecutive journeys which were pretty heavy on photography and writing - so I’ve been adopting a rather more laid back approach over recent weeks. 

Today’s main is the heron over the Sychnant hills (better large, if you have time) with an extra of him in the cotton grass and another of a foxglove in the rain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.