Too Darned Hot!

Ugh...I can't even believe I'm complaining about the heat after months of cold rain. But seriously 90F/32.2C? And tomorrow 99F??? I won't write what I'm really feeling about this situation....it might offend your ears...grr.
And it's really windy! All the old cedar needles are falling down like, well, snow. 

I got out early and watered where the irrigation isn't yet complete...ie, the new grass-less garden, and soaked the containers. Also washed out the birdbaths and kept them filled today. I spent much of the morning puttering around outside until it got too hot. Now the kitties and I have retreated inside into the cool a/c. I'll do the same tomorrow, and the next day. Tuesday our normal mid-70'sF temps will be back.

I've been seeing what I think is a Pacific Forktail - a type of damselfly - flitting around the Nepeta x faassenii 'Walker's Low' or Walker's Low Catmint (not to be confused with Catnip...same genus though...and yes, the cats still are very interested in this plant!). For some reason the Forktail particularly likes this plant. Today I managed a pretty good shot of it, although it felt like I was in a giant hairdryer trying to take a photo! 

Hope you are nice and cool and enjoying the weekend! Grandchildren tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.