My Mission Today

Today has been spent at home trying to expend as little energy as possible. Even napped off after breakfast.

My new air fryer arrived yesterday. I've been rearranging things on the kitchen counter to accommodate it. Had a brief moment of panic when the recipe app that was recommended couldn't connect wirelessly to the fryer but then I started thinking logically. Not everyone would have a wifi connection so you just use the fryer anyway.

I had a specific task in mind, to make Scotch eggs using the quail eggs that have been standing on the side for three weeks. The egg man told me on Friday that they would still be viable. Here they are, being hard boiled. One egg, the one on the top right that's floating on the surface of the water, was discarded. I reckoned that one wasn't viable.

Peeling a quail egg is fiddly but I think I've discovered the secret. Cool the eggs after cooking in ice cold water (ice cubes) and roll the eggs on a hard surface so that the shell breaks. All you need to do then is to locate an edge where shell and membrane are connected, then peel.

The air fryer worked just fine and we now have eleven quail Scotch eggs for tomorrow. It's just that I had to go online to find a butcher that sold gluten free pork sausage meat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.