IT'S MONDAY - SO IT MUST BE COMMUNITY FRIDGE DAY!

When I got up this morning just after 7 o’clock, it was raining quite heavily, so I was feeling a bit despondent on Mr HCB's behalf. However it didn't seem to have put him off and he left quite happily at 8:30 to pick up his cricket buddy, Keith.

Of course not having the car meant that I had to make my own way over to the Church and the Community Fridge. I decided that instead of catching two buses it was about time I did some exercise so I walked from our house to a bus stop which was 20 minutes away.  I met Dianne, a Church friend, who lives quite near this bus stop so we were able to travel on the bus together, which was great because it meant that we could have a good natter on the way. It was still raining when we got there but despite the inclement weather, there were still quite a few waiting outside in the queue and it was only 10 o’clock.  There was a lot to do before they could be allowed to come in, so we hoped it wouldn’t keep raining for too long.

I won't tell you all the stuff I had to do – suffice to say that there were lots of lettuces that needed sorting out, and then bagging up, so that was what I did for the first half an hour. They were then other jobs for me to do, and I also spoke to several people in the café this morning, which was great.

My neck held up quite well but I am dictating this and then I’m going to sit and watch Wimbledon for a while. I have spoken to Mr HCB and he is enjoying cricket so I have another three or four hours to indulge myself before he gets home.

There was a LOT of bread this morning - and just before I left a lot more rolls came in - in fact about 8 more boxes!  I didn't take that many photographs but when I got home and looked, this one amused me because the bread wrappers were red, white and blue – so I thought that this could very well be bread “Fit for a Queen”.  I then decided to find a photograph of the Queen that I had taken from the television during the Platinum Jubilee celebrations, so here is our Queen in the top right hand corner of my collage.

Another successful morning - we had well over 100 people in today and despite having to queue in the rain, they seemed in very good spirits;  I hope that they were all aware of the love of God in the short time we were able to spend with them.

“People are not hungry just for bread - 
     they are hungry for love.”
Mother Teresa

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts - I am trying to comment a little more, but apologise if I don't get round to everyone.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.