TINY TUESDAY

Mr. HCB had a good day at cricket yesterday and has gone off happily again today - hoping that the rain holds off.  He did say that about 360 school children were due to be at the match today, so he and his cricket buddy, Keith, would be sitting away from them in a different place.  Cricket matches are sacrosanct to these two stalwarts and screaming children are not in the equation!

I decided that I would try and do some housework today - I could write my name in the dust on our glass television table, so it is overdue.  I also decided to go "cold turkey" today with regard to my painkillers, so having finished the housework - and everything looks spick and span - I made myself a toasted sandwich with apple and mincemeat, which was yummy - and now I am going to sit down and watch a few episodes of "This is Us" on Amazon Prime Video.  Mind you, I think before too much longer, I may need to go "cold turkey" on this because I am getting addicted, but it does make me sit down.

I had a little wander around the garden beforehand and found these tiny Borage flowers - sometimes called Starflower, but to give it its proper name "Borago Officinalis".  Some were just blue, but these had a little pink and purple on them, and this one caught my eye.  I just love the tiny spines on the stems and flower buds, so this is my entry for Tiny Tuesday - I haven't looked at the theme - which is par for the course for me - but they are definitely tiny.  The leaves are edible, but not sure I would like all those hairs in my mouth and the flowers, as well as being edible are often used for decoration.  This is a little self-seeded plant - perhaps not in the right place - but it certainly adds something to our garden.

Perhaps we should take encouragement from this quote and bloom where we are planted, even if we think we are in the wrong place:

"A flower does not think of competing
     with the flower next to it -
          it just blooms."
Zenkei Shibayama

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's Blip - I do enjoy volunteering at The Community Fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.