This is the day

By wrencottage

Spot the ball

I am ashamed to say we haven’t been out for a walk for a whole fortnight, mainly because of the unexpected return of the traveller, now known as the lodger! We rectified that omission today, and enjoyed our usual walk to visit Sir Winston and back with me desperately looking out for suitable blips on the way. There wasn’t much colour around; the mown paths through the long grasses of the Green were bleached and dry but I decided that this shot of the stumps in the cricket net at the Woodford Green Cricket Club, plus the cricket ball hiding in the back of the net, had just enough colour to be worth blipping. 

As for the rest of the day, I have been busy getting more jobs done on the computer. We live on a right angled bend, and have an ancient oak and an ash tree close to the fence at the bottom of our garden, which means their canopies overhang the garden of the next door house. The branches are now starting to touch our neighbour’s roof, so they need lopping. The oak tree has a tree preservation order on it and we’re in a conservation area, so we need permission from the council to do any work on the trees. I spent a very frustrating afternoon trying to log in to the council’s planning portal, which is entirely separate from the council’s own website (although accessed through it).

Despite having used the portal before, I simply couldn’t log in to it and I went round in circles trying to change my password (as instructed) several times. Eventually after I rang the helpline I was told that they had no record of my email address and therefore I needed to re-register because they wipe your record after two years! Nowhere on either site does it tell you that ...

Apart from that I’ve been busy helping a friend by making copies of a 38 page family history book that she was recently given by a relative. I have scanned all the pages and now need to print off three copies of each, printed both sides, so she can give them to her three children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.