a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A tale of two Wagtails

Out walking I heard a sort of "peep" sound and saw a wagtail on a post.  It stayed still enough for me to gradually creep close enough for a shot of it. I was rather pleased, as it is a yellow wagtail, which is a migratory bird, rather than the native overwintering wagtails that stay in the UK.  Sensibly perhaps, the yellow wagtail chooses to spend the winter somewhere warmer (Africa).

 As I returned along the same route later on, I saw what I thought to be the same wagtail, but this time it had caught an insect, so I happily crept closer again and took some more pictures. It was only later when looking at the images on the larger screen that I realised that the second bird was the native grey wagtail (confusing that, because the grey wagtail does have a lot of yellow in its plumage as you can see).

The difference, in case you are struggling is easily determined by looking at the colour of the stripe over the eye.  The yellow wagtail (in the main) has a yellow strip while the grey wagtail (in the extra) has a white stripe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.