SONS OF THE DESERT

A lovely, if a bit wet, morning.

I took G to Ulverston today, just for a walk and browse.   Ulverston is dominated by two things - The Hoad (a monument  that looks like a Light House for Sir John Barrow (
Sir John Barrow was a famous explorer, as well as promoting British exploration around the world. Many parts of the world are named after him including Barrow Strait, Barrow Sound and Barrow Point in the Arctic and Cape Barrow in the Antarctic. Find these on a map and work out their longitude and latitude as well as Sir John Barrow’s monument on Hoad Hill) PLUS it was the birthplace of Stan Laurel.  You can see monument from many locations around the town and there are many links to local shops to Laurel & Hardy, including the local Cineman which has a small museum to him.
Ulverston was fairlly quiet and our first port of call was, of course, to Gillams Cafe.  Rum Hot Chocolate for Garron, Cappuccino for me and their very own delicious Tea Bread with Lancashire Cheese.  

Whilst sitting upstairs in one of the window seats I  noticed that the wool shop opposite has now gone and is some of aromatherapy shop.  When did that happen!!??  
 
After coffee we went into the lovely little gift shop called Brambles and I came out with a new Charlie Bear for my collection and I've called him Laurel and he is adorable.  We then went for a browse in the lovely little market, especially for Garron to look at their very small, but excellent book section.  Then a quick trot up to The Coronation Hall to take a photo of the Laurel & Hardy Plus One Plus Dog statue.

I then took Garron to browse in the book section of the Oxfam Charity shop while I went to take a couple of photos.  I was going to go bak to the cinema to take a photo but by then it was raining quite steadily and I had not coat!!!  Of  course I covered the camera with my cardigan but got wet myself, still it's only water.

We then just came home.  Although a bit soggy it was very enjoyable.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.