IT'S MY BIRTHDAY

First of all I would like to pay a very hiumble and little tribute to Dame Deborah James, who sadly passed away yesterday with Bowel Cancer.  My thoughts are with her family and loved ones.  She was an amazing inspiration to everyone and how  she kept herself so glamorous, upbeat, and positive is just astounding.  We raised a glass to her whilst out today.
**************************

I've had a lovely birthday.  Sooo many cards and presents and I feel thoroughly spoiled and very hiumbled by it all.  I even had a birthday card from Fletch, Cumbrialasses dog, isn't that fabulous and amazing!!!

Hubby, G and I went up to Bassenthwaite Lake Station at long last.  I will be doing a couple of collages later and will blip those in extras within the next couple of days.

We left here at 10.30 intendint to have a coffee whilst we waited for our time slot.  We were going to drive up through The Lakes but the traffic news  advised that there were long tailbacks between Windermere and Ambleside on both sides, due to road works and temporary traffic lights so we avoided that and just went  up the M6.

I always forget how long it takes to get up there.  Anyway we arrived at midday and our table wasn't until 12.30.  Parking is very difficult but we did manage.  It was extremely busy too.  

As it turned out our table was ready for us and they knew all about it being my birthdY, every member of staff greeted  with "A Happy Birthday" which was really lovely.

The food was delicious, I had the seafood salad, Hubby had the Platelayer's Lunch (a sort of ploughman's type) and G had the Cumberland Brunch.  All was delicious.  We followed with Tarte au Citron and Raspberry and Prosecco cheesecake.  All delicious.  I had a couple of glasses of Prosecco, so that was really great too.

Weather-wise it was a case of sunshine and showers, so not too bad.  The M6 was fairly quiet both ways as was the A66.  Due to the showers we didn't stop off for a stroll by the lake, sadly.

We then just came home.  I now have several books and DVDs to watch so will be spending a lovely quiet evening, which suits me beautifully.

That's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see  you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.