Future Promise

Rain stopped play where the greenhouse was concerned today.   The certainty of rain later led to a rethink, C & I went home this morning and will return another day to finish the job.   With Tim on holiday, I took Jamie riding, Clara came along too.   A little rain as we returned but in Tywyn it was still dry and I managed an hours weeding at the allotment before pulling stumps for lunch.   

A wet afternoon, time to catch up on admin and start sorting the boxes of stuff that C & I brought over with them, the last of thirty packing boxes they stored for me when the old house was cleared of the children's things at the end of 2020.   Raining again as I type at 820pm but I'm hoping the brightness in the west heralds a dry walk for Meg and I.

Brodiaea elegans, out in the rain this afternoon, buds full of promise.   Native to California and Oregon where it grows mostly in dry grassland, this is the first to flower in a pot of seedlings sown in 2017.   They've survived the move from Norfolk and some hit and miss time here.  Another example of the bulbs-from-seed growers patience.   Good things are worth waiting for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.