An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Esme and Jen...

My great niece and my niece (the one who's just qualified as a primary school teacher :-)

Ele, Jen and Esme came for lunch today, with our friend Gail arriving later for coffee.  I've not seen Esme since Easter and see such a difference in her.  She's taken a stretch and her face has lost some of its babyness (not sure that's a word!  lol but I'm sure you know what I mean! :-)

Esme brought her till with her so after lunch we were playing shops.  She sold David his own slippers for $500 (yes I did mean to put dollars as that was the currency she was using.  A clue to her viewing habits perhaps!)  She made him try them on and magically, they fitted.  Result!

It was also lovely to see her interact with Lola.  Now that she's taller she's much less intimidated by Lola's size.  She wanted to play tug with Lola but of course Lola is too strong for her, so she roped in her gran and auntie Jen.  The photo in extras shows the moment in their game when they were fully engaged just before the doorbell rang and Lola immediately let go!  If I had taken the shot a few seconds later I would have caught the shocked expressions on all of their faces as they almost fell on their backsides!  I could not stop laughing!

I've had a gift for Jennifer for a long time and I've been trying to decide on the best time to give it to her.  She almost got it when she graduated with her degree in psychology four years ago, but I held back as the time just didn't feel right.  Today as she's about to embark on her new teaching career, I felt the time was right to gift her the special gift....her Great Grandmother's engagement ring.  

When David's mum passed away in 2007 she left me her mum's engagement ring and her dad's wedding ring.  I was so touched that she trusted me with these precious family heirlooms.  It was always my intention to pass the engagement ring to Jennifer and the wedding ring to her brother Andrew.  I was going to give the wedding ring to Andrew after Esme was born but wanted to give him and Jen the rings at the same time.  I didn't feel it was the right time for Jen so held onto both rings.  Now that Jen has her ring, I can give Andrew his :-)  She was very touched and the tiny ring fits her delicate fingers.  I am very happy and relieved to have finally passed the ring on!

Esme entertained us for most of the afternoon as she donned her doctor's outfit and examined us before prescribing us all potions and pills for various ailments.  Then we had our nails done in her spa, with the grand finale being a game of doggy bingo.  The illustrations and the names of the dogs on the cards had me howling oh dear :-)) with laughter - Elvis Pawlsey, Madognna, Dolly Pawton, Amy Winehound to name a few.  I won the game!  

After Esme everyone left the house was very quiet and Lola was bored so David took her on her second walk and managed to avoid the rain.  A miracle as it's been chucking it down all day (his golf at Pitlochry was cancelled.)

Got news today of another friend who currently has covid.  That's three this week.  Amazing how complacent we've become since it's no longer front page news!

P.S. Thank you so much for all your kind comments, stars and hearts on my blip yesterday.  You are all so kind and encouraging.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.