A Shady Place

This is the shady side of the little mountain we circumnavigate for Spike's Walk. The goats are still there, grazing away on the very dry grass growing on the steep slopes. Certainly more appropriate terrain for goats than humans. We ran into the goatherd coming down the trail in his ATV, presumably having checked on his charges. This is water district land and it struck me as a bit ironic that he has to deliver water to them from a big tank on the back of his vehicle.They (the goats) seemed to be taking a break from chewing when we passed. I put a picture of them in extras.

My energy held out long enough to do some laundry and go to Pilates class. We had a new (to me) teacher today and she definitely did a lot of new things. We did a number of things with one foot on the moving reformer carriage, not my favorite, but we were always allowed to keep one foot on the floor so I hung in there, telling myself it was good for my balance. Somebody used the emergency exit from the building, setting off the fire alarm. I must have had lots of practice blocking out annoying beeping and grinding because it bothered the teacher far more than it did me. Somebody finally found the key and turned it off.

I came home feeling like I need a holiday from both Pilates and physical therapy! Instead, John helped me put the bedding back on the new mattress which was efficiently delivered and the old one taken away while I was eating my avocado toast. Not particularly romantic but probably appropriate gift for our 59th anniversary. 

In fact, I think it has cooled off enough to have our glass (es) of wine on the porch. We'll probably just about muster the energy for a toast (no avocado)!

The second extra is a picture of yesterday's mystery device...a rotary cutter. Joyful gets the grand prize for guessing it correctly but he does have a  bit of a leg up because he lives with a quilter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.