Flossmo

By Flossmo

Hever Castle

Yesterday was a busy day one way and another so here I am catching up the morning after.

First thing I drove over to the other side of Surrey to meet up with a friend for a visit to Hever Castle Gardens. We both have RHS cards so entry is free and this is the first of our free-entry garden tour visits apart from Wisley where we meet regularly.

As is clear from the  photographs it was raining when we arrived. We did the Rose garden and the Italian garden under umbrellas. The flowers were very beautiful and I was spoilt for choice for a blip. It was fun to imagine Henry VIII chasing Anne Boleyn across the lawn. We then repaired to the cafe for a marvelously inexpensive and healthy lunch - not often the case in  cafes these days. By the time we had finished lunch the sun was out and we walked around the lake as I gently steamed in my anorak. 

Back at my friend's house she introduced me to Rooibos tea with orange. Quite delicious. Not only that she gave me some to take home. I'm lucky to have such a good friend. Meanwhile her new papillon dog wouldn't stop barking at me - she is becoming a bit of a prima donna (the dog I mean). Sadly my friend's flat coat retriever is on her last legs but, to the astonishment of my friend, she came out of her crate to have her head rubbed by me. I think it will be the last time I see her.

After finishing my tea I got in my car and drove to the gallery in Reigate to collect my exhibition entries. I was suprised to find that I had sold a piece (someone bought MY ART!) and the galley owner wanted to keep the rest for stock. I left empty handed with a big smile on my face.

Back home I was just in time to join my weekly writing group for a raucous hour of reading and commenting on our writing.  

After than I had dinner with the tennis and watched Andy Murray lose. A shame but that's life and I think his time is past.

Lastly I watched The Sewing Bee on catch up. A great final with some truly lovely people. Then I went to bed. 

So this is my excuse for a late blip. Alternatively the dog ate my camera.
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.