Lights, Camera!..er...click?

Having edited all the decent St George's Day pics a whole two days before I had originally agreed, took the disc into the Guildhall, where the City Council are based.

This is one of the cut-crystal and very fancy chandeliers in the main hall (where the Morris dancers were blipped. They're mighty fine but in the few seconds I had, wanted something a little different, so this is an underside view, with the Sigma 17-70mm lens.

As it is cloudy out (& more than a little chilly, compared to yesterday) I had the D7000 set to 'cloudy' white balance, giving this warm, antique colour and feel. For some reason, I zoomed out slightly during exposure, which gives a slight explosion toward the edges, but not enough to affect the centre. I used the optical stabilisation (OS) to help ensure shake was not an issue.

A quick dip in Photoshop CS where an element of unsharp mask and vignette made this final result, which I quite like. You probably won't see too many such from me and I may well take more and better shots later, if it brightens up, but I'm all for patterns and getting something a little extra from everyday objects (if a big chandelier could ever be everyday!)

Music link is a laid-back summery number and is related to the blip.

Don't forget to ZOOM in large, via the 'L' key

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.