Kahu on the hunt

The day started quite slowly for me. The Guardian cryptic while having my muesli and coffee. Then the Wordle, followed by the Quordle. Then put my laundry into the machine. By the time the morning was over, I was ready for a run, and did the Rimutaka/Huia/Woodlands circuit.

Midday runs are usually fairly quiet in respect of birdsong. So I took a photo of a portion of the track joining the end of Rimutaka to Huia Road. When I had just started up the hill on Huia Road after leaving the track, I saw this Kahu (the New Zealand falcon)gliding overhead. My photo was taken just after it started to accelerate off and away.

This evening we collected Young L from his mother and took him to where as part of his training with Youth Search and Rescue  he is spending a couple of nights. The weather was foul (lots of rain) and the road poorly marked (a gravel road with huge potholes, and very narrow), leading to me having to back in the dark three times. The car's cameras and computer control prevented me crashing (the car) or just collapsing (me).

Now at the beach. Relieved that there has been no more water ingress. Now just need the roof fixed and then the insurer willpay for the repairs inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.