You go your way; I'll go mine

After a bit of a sleep in, I spent the morning pottering and reading. Mid afternoon I jogged down to Southend of Snells Beach with the Pentax. The tide was racing out through the deeper channels through the mudflats. The Tarapunga (red-billed gulls) were their usual (for this time of year) obnoxious selves. Whenever they see me out on the mudflats they start winding each other up with aggressive calls to arms wings, and then the attacks begin.

One starts to scream abuse at me and then fly at my head. They always pull up, and fly in a big loop to repeat the seeming attack. The usual pattern (and what happened today) is that more and more join in; all screaming their war cries. I once thought that pointing the camera at them discouraged them. Now it is as if they are hoping to be on YouTube.

Ignoring them, I went after a photo of Poaka (the pied stilts), and was lucky enough to get two close together, and not spooked by the screams of the Tarapunga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.