WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Tow Path Walk

I took Bella walkies this morning along the towpath towards Gargrave.

The wildflowers and grasses were in abundance as the Canal and River Trust have left the paths to grow wild. Some boaters are not happy about this 1. Because our license fee pays for the maintenance of the canal and paths. 2. Because it makes it difficult to moor up among the overgrowth.
I don’t mind though because it looks beautiful and I have seen flowers that I haven’t seen for years and some I don’t even know.
 
Frank went home for the day and overnight as he had choir this morning and a music practice with his pals. So it is just Bella and I on the boat together tonight. 
The weather has been lovely so I weeded the mooring garden.
our boat neighbour, Ted got stung by a wasp yesterday right next to his eye, he looks as if he has been in the boxing ring. Today I was chatting to him and his wife, Jackie when I felt a sharp pain on my knee, I screeched and ran inside the boat shouting I have to take my trousers off! Sure enough I had been stung by a wasp, it had crawled up my trouser leg! I put some vinegar on the sting, now it feels a little more than a nettle sting.
Ted said he had disturbed a load of wasps yesterday when he was trying to uproot a thistle and they were under the soil.

180/365
Abundance on the Towpath 

Rosebay willow herb, clover,
buttercups and red campion,
the variety of wild plants
on the towpath is champion.
Speedwell, purple vetch,
meadow cranesbill and daisy,
thistle, herb robert, spurge, 
so much to take in and amaze me.
Birdsfoot trefoil and cowslips,
the scent of the meadow sweet,
lady’s mantel, ragwort and…
Oh, my senses - what a treat!
Now there’s bramble blossom,
cow parsley, and some I don’t know
goatsbeard clocks, plantain
the paths have been left to grow
I hear buzzing, see butterflies 
and creepy crawlies abound
I feel peace, joy and good fortune
as I walk slowly and look around
Now here on the wall is honeysuckle
and some flat heads of tiny pink flowers
I must bring along my Collins Gem Guide 
I could while away many hours.

(or I could get that wild flower app!)

Bella is sulking because Frank is not here :-(

Nearly book and bedtime!
Thanks for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts.
Goodnight :-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.