Sunlit skipper

Although my energy is still low, it’s a beautiful afternoon and we go to Havarah Park our local reservoir, we were last here in May (7th and 28th) and the butterflies are different again.
The blip was taken towards the end of our walk on a sunlit patch of thistles full of skippers, meadow browns and ringlets. Google lens is identifying this as a large skipper, I think because of the chequered pattern on the wings, I’d be interested if anyone knows because I was expecting it to be a small skipper.
In the extra collage are a couple of ringlets, at the top, meadow browns at the bottom, a small tortoiseshell, a chimney sweep moth - never seen these here before, a rather handsome noon fly ( so says Google lens) a grasshopper, a head on skipper and a damselfly, I love these high summer days when these beauties abound, hope you are enjoying your weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.