A moment of joy...

While my eldest son was getting married at Peterborough Registry Office, I sought solace in the garden, where this glowing Large Skipper provided a moment of joy as it fed on the  flowers of Marsh Woundwort. I think it must have emerged from the garden as it was absolutely perfect, with every scale immaculate.

The Marsh Woundwort has done very well this year and has been a valuable foraging area for many species of invertebrate, including the first definite sightings of Fork-tailed Flower bee Anthophora furcata in our garden. I managed to get a few shots today in appalling light just before a heavy shower fell extremely abruptly, causing me to run back to the house! (see extra).

On a more positive note, I think I'm now definitely on the mend and have felt much more like my usual self. I even managed to do some tidying and hoovering! And tomorrow Chris and Lizzy will be joining us for a mini-celebration of their marriage in the garden, when I'm also hoping to take some photographs of her wearing an original 1950's dress that belonged to my Mum. Just crossing my fingers for sunshine and no rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.