The Great Stormstown July 4th Tractor Parade!

In which Pappy Ron can be seen rockin' his old Farmall . . .
And in which we celebrate the American farmer!

It has become something of a custom around here to have a tractor parade on the weekend of the 4th of July. For the past two weeks, I watched our local Stormstown Neighbors Facebook group like a hawk, awaiting details of this year's tractor extravaganza.

And then . . . success! On the week leading up to the event, there were some comments in the group. You know how things are right now. Could people even afford to do this sort of thing? There were offers of help. Could we pitch some money into the kitty to buy them some gas?

On Saturday morning, the parade route was posted, and I giggled with glee. The parade would start on route 550 at the church where we vote (right by One Tree Hill), head over to Houtz, and then wind around through the development, past the gameland parking lot, over to Smith Road, onto Marengo, and then back onto 550. Perfectamundo! My stomping grounds!

Just before 10 a.m., my husband dropped me off on the other side of town and I walked my way back along the parade route, stopping often to check for sign of tractors. I noted that people were out everywhere: walking around, putting out chairs, hanging out with their children and grandchildren. It was like a block party, but in the country!

By a house whose huge allium I have admired all spring, a shirtless and barefoot gentleman approached me and asked if I'd seen the tractors coming yet. Nope, I said. Probably another 10 or 15 minutes to go. I asked about the allium; where'd they get them? He hailed his wife; she told me; they invited me back to see their pretty gardens behind the house. But I was on tractor duty, so (with thanks to them) I walked on by.

At the gameland, I discovered several families already set up along the parade route. Parents. Kids in strollers. A little boy in his Spiderman jammies on a blankie. Children jumping in puddles. (Is there ever anything more fun in the world than THIS simple thing? Puddle jumping?) I kept moving.

Finally, I was on daisy hill, standing, wondering where to position myself for my shots. I had my monopod along, and my new camera bag, and I was ready to roll. I only wished for a CHAIR, which I'll for sure take along next year.

I ran into a friend, and we chatted. We often pass each other while out walking. He walks a different part of the paths than I do, but we overlap for a street or two. We laughed about the parade and how excited everyone was. "It's like Santa Claus is coming!" I laughed. He pointed to my camera: "At least we know we'll get some decent photos of the parade!"

And then the tractors were upon us! I was standing there with my camera on my monopod, getting great shot after great shot. As each tractor passed, I gave a hearty wave and a great big megawatt smile!! And every single one returned it! Hooray! I blew kisses to the children and made the little boys blush!

Here is one of my best shots of the parade, and the guy in front has a marvelous American flag. I posted my photos in the Stormstown Neighbors group, for I was sure there would be many who would miss it. And indeed, there were many who were grateful. Such a simple joy, to get to see a local parade. (And believe you me, it is my pure pleasure to provide access.)

Oh, and according to someone in that group, this is a photo of "Pappy Ron rockin' his old Farmall." Now, which one is Pappy Ron, I have no idea. And what is a Farmall? A tractor of some sort, I presume!  :-) (I came back to add this later: I looked it up and the Farmall is the tractor in front, so that's Pappy Ron waving the great big flag!)

As the parade wound up, one of the last vehicles was a pick-up truck with a guy in the back throwing out candy to the children. He saw me, and pitched three lollipops toward me, which landed by my feet. "Thank you, sir!" I shouted, as I picked them up. And he hollered back, "You're welcome!" And then I shouted out, "God bless the U.S.A.!"

Now, I need a song for this July 4th tractor blip, by which I mean to celebrate the American farmer. For farming is a hard life, and it is back-breaking work, but so important to all of us who like to EAT. And out here, farming space is competing with developments. It is an uneasy balance.

Farm families grow our food. They work long hours. They deal with heartache and loss and poor weather and the increasing prices of everything. We can at least be grateful. And I am. On this holiday weekend, I send out a big thank you to the American farmer!

And God Bless the U.S.A.!

Here is our soundtrack song, on the weekend of the 4th of July: Home Free, Lee Greenwood, and the United States Air Force Band: God Bless the U.S.A.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.