07:05

Something strange happened today. 

Since Friday's wander along the beach from Kinghorn, my usual urges to run again have become stronger. That beach is a trigger, but it is a long story (Black Rock 5, for those who know). 

Last night I decided there was only one solution, so this morning I was in the park first thing (before coffee) ready to run. I dug out the NHS Couch to 5k podcast again to make sure it was all as controlled as possible. 

Week 1 means just 1 minute runs with 90 seconds recovery in between each. A 30 minute session. 

That first minute felt very strange and disjointed, but after that it was all fine. Since I finished I have felt better than I have for years, except maybe after one of my 10 mile hikes. It is a different feeling to hiking obviously. 

Food for thought.

If my ancient muscles and joints are still working properly tomorrow, I should repeat that session twice in the next 6 days. 

The Blip is the part of the park I used, sheltered from the wind and deserted so early on a Sunday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.