Workplace

Today was the day for my participation in the  Sunday sermon at Torslunda Church, close to where I live. I was asked a month ago by my landlord (and the parish church musician), if I wanted to sing a few songs fitting the theme of todays sermon, "Lost-retrieved". Of course I accepted. I am not a believer in God but I think the general message of peace, communication and understanding in more or less any religion is worth supporting. 

In a Swedish church in general, the amount of visitors isn't very high, we were 21 in all, including the people working. I was pleased with my part and thought it fitted well in the sermon itself. That was confirmed afterwards, when I talked to a young man from Iran and his Swedish wife. I noticed him because he was filming a lot with his mobile, not a common thing to do in a Swedish Sunday sermon. They asked if it was ok to send a the clip he made to his family in Iran, during my singing  of the song "Fragile" by Sting. He wanted to give them an encouraging clip from Sweden, he said. Visiting a sermon at a Christian church was illegal and the song was political, therefore not allowed either. That felt like all the rehearsing was well worth while only for that comment alone.
In the evening sermon at the small chapel, the priest wanted me to sing the songs again, which I did.

From tomorrow I have something resembling a holiday, up to the last week of July, when I do the next concert. The plan is to record the Beatles tunes during that time and maybe I'll get the roof on the shed done too, or at least started upon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.