Roses and rubbish!

Another normal July day in the west of Scotland - or so it seems to be! Dull, with occasional drizzle.

I finished riddling the rest of the compost - it's not bad stuff seeing as it's mostly kitchen waste, with only the odd weed thrown in. I've got a dozen half-filled compost bags out of it, so that's a pretty good haul. I'll need to find something bigger if I'm to compost more garden weeds. 

After lunch I set off for a litter pick - I haven't done it for a few weeks. More than the litter I couldn't help noticing the weeds (sorry, wild flowers!) growing along the pavements, the bottoms of walls and round bollards, some 3 or 4 feet high. It may be true that they're good for wildlife, but there's a place for everything and I think that weeds in towns look bad!

While up at McCaig's Tower a couple out with a young boy commented on the 'Keep Oban Beautiful' across the back of my hi-viz. Apparently the boy was called Oban so they took our picture, the boy facing the camera and me facing the other way! 

I enjoy walking along Taylor's Brae at this time of year, as over the wall in what used to be allotments of a sort are many different shrub roses. I don't know which this is, but it's beautifully perfumed! 

I went down Jacob's Ladder where three young teenagers were sitting on a bench consuming alcoholic beverages! I had quite an amusing chat with them and hope I managed to persuade them to take their cans and bottles down to the bin at the bottom of the steps. They said that at my age I should be sitting down drinking whisky, so I asked how they knew what age I was. That brought up a lot of laughter, with the girl pretending that I couldn't be more than fifty! I replied that I was a lot older than that and that at my birthday, coming up shortly, I would be 74. So they wished me a happy birthday and told me not to work that day! They seemed pleasant enough and I hope that with all the joviality I got the message across! Half an hour later one of the boys passed me in the street and wished me a good day! 

Enjoyed a few chats with several other folk, one that I knew and the rest that I didn't! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.