This is the day

By wrencottage

The Dormouse and the Doctor

Today I was asked by a couple of people from church to make condolence cards, so that’s kept me busy, and it gave me something to do to help with the feelings of sadness about the sudden death of our friend.

We’ve not been out for a walk today. We were waiting in for a delivery of an oak barrel water butt to replace our ageing one that was falling apart. The delivery arrived mid afternoon, but by then we weren’t in the mood to go out walking. 

After blipping the geranium yesterday, and having bought this lovely delphinium at the nursery a few days ago, I knew exactly what I wanted to blip today, especially as one of my childhood nicknames was Dormouse. Fans of A. A. Milne will know what I mean. Just the first verse will do!

 (Photos of my collectors' edition of Winnie-the-Pooh books in extras.)


"The Dormouse and the Doctor" from "When We Were Very Young" by A. A. Milne

There once was a Dormouse who lived in a bed
Of delphiniums (blue) and geraniums (red)
And all the day long he'd a wonderful view
Of geraniums (red) and delphiniums (blue)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.