This is the day

By wrencottage

Pink Pong

The flower beds in our back garden have got a bit overgrown lately so we’ve had a bit of clear out, which means there are some spaces to fill.

So I took myself off to the nursery first thing this morning to buy a few more plants.  When I was at the nursery last Friday I had seen three gorgeous salvias called "Pink Pong" (!) but they were somewhat expensive so I didn’t succumb to temptation. However, this time I had strict instructions from Smithers that I must treat myself. (One doesn’t argue with Smithers.) I was delighted to see that there was still one of the Pink Pong salvias left, so that was the first thing I popped into my trolley!

In followed another dark blue delphinium similar to the one I bought on Friday, plus a really pretty lilac coloured one. I thought of blipper Rainette as I lifted it up to have a closer look – I know she likes delphiniums – and I will plant these two near the first one to make a group of three. I also chose a deep pink potentilla and a campanula.

This is a photo of my purchases, with just two missing. They are standing in a sheltered part of the border out of the breeze – they kept falling over because they’re quite tall – and they are another buddleia (only this one is taller and more bushy, and paler in colour) plus a fabulous dark purple salvia. I can’t wait until they are all planted and start getting established.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.