Eshaness

Heaven for geologists Eshaness has some of the most spectacular coastal features in Shetland. It's right at the north western tip of the mainland and even on a still day blowy up on the cliffs. Today there was a stiff breeze which made walking quite stimulating. We have done this walk before and it is always wonderful. Once we saw an otter running along the cliff top but there wasn't anything like that today.

I've taken lots of photographs today of the lighthouse, the sea stacks and the cliffs of Eshaness. I'm not thrilled with any of them and downright disappointed in some. Not sure why that would be given the subject but I suppose some days are like that. I hope this blip conveys something of the wildness of the land and power of the sea here. Not to be messed with. Stand well back from the edge.

Stopped at the community shop in Hillswick and bought a bit of lunch. We sat and watched the tirricks (Arctic terns) diving and wheeling. I've included one as an extra in case I don't get a better tirrick snap. Found some nice smooth sea glass by the shore which was a good surprise.

It's a pretty good day for weather. No rain and quite sunny though the wind is gusty. Despite the effort it took to walk the cliffs I've not done many steps so I'm going to head out into Lerwick now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.