BEAUTIFUL WATER LILY

I went to visit Julia, a dear friend of  many years standing for coffee this morning.  I won’t call her an “old” friend because we are both “young at heart” even though our bodies sometimes have other ideas, but as we haven’t seen each other for sometime, we had a lot to catch up on.  

I arrived at 10.30 and after a quick wander around her garden, we sat down with our coffee in her little summerhouse.  Before we knew it, it was 1.15 and then after another tour of the garden, I eventually got away at 1.45 - but then we are both retired, so didn’t need to dash off anywhere.  There aren’t many times when I visit Julia that I don’t come away with a few plants, and today was no exception.  

I took lots of photographs of her garden - and being a keen gardener, it was looking lovely.  Since Julia’s husband died, she has kept the garden beautifully;  I know how much she enjoys being out there, and over the years, I have learned a lot from her.  

I saw this beautiful lily in her pond and as I had my selfie stick with me was able to zoom in to take a photograph.  We both agreed that we mustn’t leave it so long before we meet up again and hopefully the three of us can go out for lunch sometime soon.  As Mr. HCB and her husband used to walk and go yachting together, we often chat about old times - I think that could be a long lunch!

“Old friends become more and more precious 
     to us as the years pass. 
They can look at us for who we once were 
     and who we are now, 
          appreciating the difficulties 
               we have overcome, 
                   the abilities we have acquired, 
and the ways we have stayed true to ourselves.”
Wendy Lustbader

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.