100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 79 - SIX BAGS FULL

First of all I must apologise for not responding to any comments and for not commenting yesterday - I was totally engrossed in the housework - sorry, that’s not absolutely true, but it sounds good and it did need doing!  I managed to get quite a lot done, but at about 4 o’clock, I felt rather faint - probably a combination of doing too much and not eating and drinking enough, so I took myself off to bed, where I slept for two hours.

By that time, Mr. HCB had arrived home from cricket - fortunately, he had taken enough food, so I didn’t need to cook him a meal, so just sat in the chair and then after hearing about his day, went to bed early.  

I still felt a little “odd” when I woke up, so decided to stay in bed and eventually got up at 11.15, so having been warned by Mr. HCB “not to do too much” I decided an easy job would be to clear out my wardrobe and get rid of all the clothes that I no longer needed.  As I piled them on the bed, and as the pile grew ever higher, I wondered if it was a good idea, but decided to carry on and by the time I had finished, I had six bags full of clothes and shoes.  

Not having anything in mind for today’s Blip and still feeling a bit yucky, I just threw a pretty purple scarf - one that is not going to the charity shop - over the lot and took a few shots with the SlowShutter app on Light Trail, did a bit of fartnarkling in iColorama and this was the result.  I apologise that it is another mauve/purple abstract, but you know by now that it is my favourite colour - so this is Number 79 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which enables impoverished girls in North Malawi to get a good secondary school education.  

“While Malawi has made great improvements in girls’ education over the last two decades, closing gender gaps in basic education, many adolescent girls fail to complete secondary education, dropping out before Form 4 and their national examinations.  


For every 100 boys in upper secondary, only 68 girls are enrolled. Social pressures compounded by school-related costs impact on girls’ ability to complete their education, with girls from the poorest households at the greatest risk of dropout.”

How amazing then, that through personal sponsorship and also that of many others - and for my part, with the help of many of you - and giving on a regular basis - in 2021, the Mamie Martin Fund is supporting 139 girls across six schools.  Hopefully, these girls will go on to University and then go back to their home village and community to help make a difference.

“What kind of footsteps will you leave 
     for those who follow you?” 
Kathy Bee : Footsteps My Journey

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.