100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 80 - ABSTRACT OF ABSTRACTS

Firstly, thank you everyone who has wished me well in the last couple of days - not sure why I felt like I did - Mr. HCB would say it’s because I’m not eating properly, but I promise I am eating sensibly and have accepted the fact that I will never be as thin as some of the skinny models!

I feel much better this morning and Mr. HCB has gone off to cricket, hoping that the match will be won by his team today so that he can at least have a day off tomorrow, although he says that they have enjoyed the game very much, despite several heavy showers - he and Keith, his cricket buddy are made of stern stuff!

I could have cheated today and used this as 17 abstracts, because this is actually a shot of the canvas we have on our wall of several of the abstracts I have taken over the years - and you can see the original  here, which is a canvas on one of our lounge walls.  

However, I decided not to do that, but instead used the SlowShutter App with the Light Trail capture mode - so this is Number 80 of my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which I am doing to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which helps impoverished girls in North Malawi to get a good secondary education.  

From the Mamie Martin Fund website:

“Our charity is inspired by the legacy of Mamie and Jack Martin, who worked in Nyasaland in the 1920s.  When we look back at that time, we can find racist and paternalistic attitudes which do not sit easily with our views today and it is important to acknowledge that. However, when we read Mamie and Jack’s story through their own words, we see them learning the local languages, making friends amongst their communities, and working hard to better the lives of their new friends. 

They stood together with local couples at the baptism of Margaret in 1927, at a service taken by a black minister. The Mamie Martin Fund stands in solidarity with all those who fight racism.  

At the Mamie Martin Fund, we take a stand against poverty and inequality by supporting the education of girls and we are grateful to our donors and supporters who help us to continue this work. We strive to continue this work in a spirit of dignified partnership.”

“We need women at all levels, 
     including the top, 
          to change the dynamic, 
               reshape the conversation, 
to make sure women’s voices 
     are heard and heeded, 
          not overlooked and ignored.” 
Sheryl Sandberg

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.