Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Up, Up, and Away

Firstly, thank you so much for everyone who starred, hearted and commented on my 11 year milestone yesterday.  It simply underscores what a remarkably kind and generous community this is.

Today I met up with three birder friends to do a 4-mile walk along a wetlands area.  And although we racked up 42 bird species, my stars of the day were all the insects.  I would never have imagined 11 years ago that I would become such a bug nerd, but here I am - totally geeked out over an abundance of fab insects.  The feature today is a rather common Red Milkweed Longhorn Beetle.  He was rather becomingly perched on a blade of grass and just as I fired a burst, he opened his wings and I got this!  I think beetle wings are really fascinating - as you can see they are rather curled up under the hard exterior shell.  I shall put my second fave shot of the day in Extra of a loving pair of Dogbane Beetles on native dogbane plants.

I had a nice shower and nap when I got home, and am now about to go pick Jax up from Daycare.  I told them this was his birthday week, so they prepared a little birthday cookie for him and showered him with extra love.  I feel so lucky to have found a place that knows and loves him. 

I've already indulged in some dark today - creamy and delicious with a hint of mint.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.