That's Not Right

I made this wee box ..... and then the lid started sliding open.
Although the wood (Camphor Laurel) was dry by cutting and turning it the tension was released.
Having to try and remount the lid on the lathe after this happens is a nightmare because there is nothing circular to grip and normally ends up with a new lid having to be made.
However, on this occasion I managed.

I made another box in the 'Brutalist' style ... basically, one cylinder for the base and a smaller one for the top.
It just looked wrong! - definitely not right.
So it was back to the lathe.....
The base got a new lid ..... and the lid became a base and that got a lid (I am not 100% happy with the finial, but I can live with it.

The Cherry bowl is definitely not right.

I spent a bit of time at the side of the garden pond this afternoon - removing stuff that is taking over and swamping the water lily (which is itself getting too big for the pond). At the end of the flowering season I am going to have to get it out and split the tuber. I also think I am going to need to bet a block and tackle to get the basket that holds the tall grass out ..... the roots have gone down into the deep bit and seem to be too happy in the sludge down there.

EDIT.......
Another thing that isn't right -- We have just heard that SWMBO's brother's first wife passed away this evening.
She has been ill for some time and we were expecting it, but it is still hard to take. She was only a few months older than me and didn't make her pension. Always full of life and laughing.
The first time I met her she jumped onto a reclining chair to introduce herself .... the chair reclined - all the way to the floor and she just laughed, looked up at me and said "Hello - My name is Katie".

I am now going to have a large drink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.