sp33dway

By sp33dway

Run For Boston

Myself and 3 other friends scattered across the UK decided to don a bib I created and dedicate a run today in memory of the victims of the bombings from the Boston marathon last week. From L to R meet Ceri, Yours Truly, Gary Bestbuddyboyo and Tina.

Ok so Ceri here actually did her run on Wednesday because today she is in London carb-loading ready for the marathon tomorrow, but as a collective it still counts.

I ran 19.1 kilometres in the barefoot FiveFingers, the furthest I've ran in one sitting so far - and actually talking with my mate Gary whilst we ran too! The first 12k were enjoyable, K's 13-16 were hard but the final 3 felt like purgatory. My buddy sprinted off home leaving me to dig deep and hobble the last 1/2 a kilometre on my own, and I was in tears for the last 200metres, the emotion of everything getting the better of me.

But I did it. And they did too. Thanks guys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.