Just another day

An averagely dull day, but slightly brighter than yesterday evening when the mist was blowing past the window like bonfire smoke!

Indoor stuff this morning, but I decided to visit the Walled Garden this afternoon to take some of the bagged compost down - half this time, the rest tomorrow maybe. 

I spread what I had and planted another batch of runner beans. I don't know what's happened to the first lot which have been in since 23rd May.  They've hardly grown at all, been attacked by something and quite  a few were dead. I've never seen the like before! Think they've had Covid - I know how they feel! 

It drizzled a bit for a while, so I cleaned up, dug a hole to bury what weeds I'd pulled up, and loaded the car. Then I went back in to take some pictures - there are a lot of lovely climbing roses out at the moment, like this one, arching over the gate which leads up to the car park. It's rather deceptive - this wall doesn't look too bad, but the rest of the Walled Garden is pretty much a mess, played about with by all and sundry who know very little about gardening and very different, I suspect, from its condition back in the Olde Days when it was part of a flourishing estate. They wouldn't get away with it if I was the boss, I can tell you!

My extra today is of one of the old lean-to glasshouses which has been resurrected. Not a bad job - you can see the remains of the cold frames which sat in front. But would you believe it - someone's left a spade out, as well as a pile of flower pots! Whatever is the world coming to!

Then it began to rain in earnest, making me even more grumpy than usual, so I came home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.