Still Life

So remember that still life I photographed in art class a while back? I finished the watercolor version today. I had to keep looking at it as if it wasn't supposed to be exactly the same as the photograph but rather my impression of the photograph. I showed my grandson the picture I took and my painting tonight and the first thing he said was 'It doesn't look like the picture.' Ahhhh!! Why did I do that?? I knew he would say that!! Haha!
The more art I do the more I see how you can easily be your own worst critic. You spend so much time on a project that you start losing perspective. Walking away for a while is always a good idea. One of the best things I ever did I kept on an easel in my TV room for over a week and every time I sat down I would look at it. Each time I saw different things I hadn't seen before.
I think I also had a little attitude towards my blossoms since allergies are in full swing right now. Tree pollen in New Jersey is setting records this year and everyone you see has bloodshot eyes and is yawning and rubbing their noses. After all, we are known as The Garden State! Achoo!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.