5k….done!

It was the Media City Swim Challenge today. There were various distances…15k (WOW), 10k(wow), 5k and 1.5k. In a rash moment I’d booked the 5k. It is much further than I’ve ever swum before and I was very nervous. I don’t like to fail, but I did have a few doubts about it. The sun was shining and there were some pretty awesome swimmers there.

The support swimmers give each other is tremendous and without it I don’t think I would have done it. Before I got in and during my swim I was cheered and boosted along.

The course was set out over the whole dock. One lap was 1k. The first three laps were okay and I felt good. I wasn’t fast but I was comfortable. The fourth lap was so hard and I did wonder if I would have the strength to finish. I pushed hard and went for lap number five. My arms were like lead weights and I was completely shattered but Lou was on the kayak and Karen on the paddle board and they paddled alongside me all the way on the final stretch. They kept me going and I am so grateful to them. I was the last 5k swimmer back but quite a few had dropped out so I did better than them. Tina took this pic as I approached the exit. I had jelly legs and goggle eyes but a smile as wide as dock9. I did it!!!

Now I’m going to celebrate with a Chinese with Sue. What a great day :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.