A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Needle Woman

After church I set off to see a few of the village scarecrows we missed yesterday.

It was very hot and in my sandals I knew I wouldn't be going too far.
The first one was a bit of a surprise as it was all metal. A robotic bird. Very clever but not sure if it was a pastime or even a scarecrow. I shouldn't be critical as they have made a good effort which I haven't, but I recall that his was the house, when the village did Christmas windows, that had done a volcano - each to his own!

There was Wendles' marvellous Orienteer which she posted herself the other day up on Mooredge and this rather lovely little crocheting lady. Knitting, crochet and sewing, and in my time patchwork are my kind of thing so I've chosen her for today's blip. Airedale knitter has also put her lady knitter on blip.

I didn't get right out to Cuckoos Nest on the edge of the village but the last two I saw amused me. In the new development in the centre of the village was spiderman suspended form the wall of the house. I was just wondering how this met the theme when I spotted he was knitting!
Finally, passing the village shop and PO there was a headless and legless stuffed football shirt hanging outside. I called in to Smylah, the postmaster - you can see him exactly a year ago on my blip with his wife as village heros, to ask if it was a headless footballer, he called back 'a headless chicken'. To be amused by this you have to know that Bradford city are known as the Bantams! 

You can see more in my Flickr album for July

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.