Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Summer Reading

Thanks to blipper Carol I put it in a frame and it worked!
EDIT :    The blip is in the extra !    Because… at about 9:30 pm , I noticed the thumbnail was different which means the photo had become smaller like often happens for most mysterious reasons ….so I tried to replace it with the same book photo  but it refused to do it.    A mystery .   But it looks bigger in the extra!

A book blip. 

Today I finished the 888 page 9th Novel in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon…. I must admit I’ve enjoyed them all, as well as the TV series, and visiting some sites in Scotland on a trip in 2017 where we could think about real historical events and time travel through some of those standing stones.   Her website says there will be at least a 10th book.   But she has written all sorts of other books , mostly shorter , ( the Lord John Gray series for one) that are tempting, but think i can’t get into. . 
Bring here on the island I especially marvel at what incessant hard work and ingenuity those early pioneers had to have to even put food on the table.   I might have to read more about the revolutionary war however.  Will return “Go Tell the Bees That I Have Gone” to my dil A who has the whole series. 

The book before this was Louise Erdrich’s “ The Sentence.”   I’m not sure why I haven’t read every one of hers as I enjoy them too….( must put them on my list)  And this one’s about ghosts in a bookshop! Louise is a  Chippewa Native American so her insights  about her culture today, using family stories, are invaluable.   . And I always love a little magical realism.   This book was in the short list for  the Booker prize. 

And altho I already have a  fair sized stack (Outlander  took awhle )I think tonight I will begin Charles Todd’s “ A Duty to the Dead”, the first Bess Crawford mystery about the same time period, post WW l London. , as the Maisie Dobbs series I just read. They are both WWl nurses turned investigators.    Friend Cathy just gave me this one….I  know  nothing about this author but delving into history and mysteries in another series this summer ( of not overly  serious reading…. at least they’re not drug store romances! ).  does appeal and it will be fun to compare those strong women.     There are at least 12 .
We’ll see.  

Gosh, these are making me think of the Cherry Ames series I read as a kid,( in the 50s )   another nurse solving mysteries.. just a little bit later …. I guess it’s a popular subject…..

Lest you think I spend all my time here…I also had a walk, did some chores and tried to help H paint on the ramp but not much of that….too hard. 

Sorry …too many words.  Will fix tomorrow…. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.