Aquatic Garden

I had such an exciting day. 
I won't tell you about it because it would take too long and people here already have an unrealistically positive perception of me. Besides, there were many, many people involved, including a nurse, a teacher with experience with kids who had heat exhaustion, the Emergency Medical Services team, the friend I went to the Aquatic Garden with, and the person who called 911. I'll just share with you some tips and lessons that can be drawn from the experience:
- seat canes are fabulous. If you need a cane, consider a seat cane, and then, when you need to sit, you have a seat with you. When I needed a seat cane it was the best thing I bought all year. 
- if you wear a tank top under your summer hoodie, you can take your hoodie off and someone can sit/lay on it instead of directly on the ground
- if you've recently shaved, you'll feel completely comfortable taking off your hoodie (later when it occurs to you)
- if you are wearing a Panama Hat, it can be used as a really effective fan
- if someone has a bottle of water, there is a really good chance that there are ice cubes in it and they can be placed on the neck or head
- if you keep asking someone simple questions you'll know when they lose consciousness
- carry a stinking cell phone on you, even if you don't want to, even if your daughter is carrying one, because what happens if she runs off to get your wheelchair and you wind up in an ambulance before she gets back? How are you going to tell her where you are?? Only through the kindness of strangers
- I'm funny. I'm really funny. I crack myself up. 

When it was all over and done with and everyone was ok, the daughter thanked me for taking my shirt off for her mother. Her mother was flummoxed because she had no idea this had happened. I said, "yep, I took it off and was bare-breasted for the whole park." I had her going until I showed her my tank top underneath. 

McDonald's left Russia. A Russian franchisee took over. They are running low on country-style potatoes due to supply chain disruptions caused by war and sanctions. 

Four years after Moscow hosted the World Cup final, Russian clubs cannot enter Europe's three competitions this season. FIFA and UEFA have imposed sanctions. No one wants Russia to be in any competitions. 
Players are leaving, resulting in a talent drain. 

The Economist says people are making post-Putin plans. 

Almost four million Russians have left Russia in 2022. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.