Square

Spent a lovely few hours on the plot early this morning. First job, feed Bobby robin, & the new kid to the plot a male Blackbird. He has'nt got a name yet. Watering, staking tomato plants, & feeding the tomatoes, courgettes, peas, & sweetpeas, with my very freshly strained comfrey tea... Mmmmmm! It really pongs so I hope it works it's magic. I lifted a couple of potato plants, enough spuds to supply Alison, who found room for Mum's frozen goods last week when her freezer packed up, along with a few courgettes including yellow, a new variety that I'd not grown before, plus a bag for Mandy, whose horse poo heap I visit quite frequently.
Down to Mum's to walk Indie, camera slung around my neck.  Square! Water Board diversion barriers .. nah! The much photographed overhead pylons .... maybe! Indie getting bored/impatient/warm. Across the heath keeping to the perimeter where there is some lovely dappled shade out of the increasing heat of the day, & it's only 10.15am.
Ew! I can smell onions frying. Why do they always smell so good. Making me hungry. Where was I?. Ah yes! Square! So this got most votes, from me :-) One of the numerous gates leading off the heath. Square! Done! Thanks to laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday this month.
 
Just leaving Mum's when Sarah, & her dad, Harold, arrived in the camper van. Harold was a friend & local of The Anchor Inn for many years when Mum & Dad were tenants. He is'nt mobile so we stood & chatted through the campervan window. Mum had just shown me some photos in one of her numerous albums from the Anchor days. It was 17.7.1988, the party evening celebrating their 25 years in the pub. People that Harold would know & probably remember so I fetched that out for him to take a look at. They had a good ol' chuckle reminiscing. Good for Mum as well as Harold. :-)
I nipped to the Coop at Trago to top up my cider supply. None in stock. GRHHHH! The queue for the petrol station was ridiculous. The cheapest petrol in the area.
Back home, sandwich & coffee in the back garden out of the sunshine. Love the warmer temperature but too hot to be sat in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.