Two Butterflies and a Moth Caterpillar

It was much hotter here today than it has been, reaching 29.1C. I walked in the sun with H this morning on Kelling Heath, stopping for a much needed cuppa at the holiday park on the way round. There was some Viper's Bugloss on the heath (thanks for the id H - photo on left) next to the car park that was attracting small butterflies, I think these are a skipper and a common blue. The caterpillar I think is of the Cinnabar moth. We also saw a yellowhammer on our route. A couple of weeks ago I saw a fire engine turning into the narrow lane that leads to the railway crossing. I assume it was to put out the fire that was evident on the heath close to the railway, fire is always a risk with a steam railway. It was interesting to already see lots of new growth, despite still being able to smell the fire. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.