A Beautiful Morning

I went early for my newspaper walk before it got hot (actually it was only the early 20s here in the end). A beautiful morning with this stunning blue sky. I got a nice photo of a male gatekeeper butterfly, there were lots around this morning, but I couldn't resist a photo of the windmill against that blue sky. So I've added a collage as an extra with the gatekeeper and a frog (or is it a toad) that was outside my back door last night and appeared when I was watering the pots. 

An enjoyable final today, I'd have liked to see Kyrgios focus throughout the match and play his best tennis, but his form and temper dipped for a couple of sets. I'm not a Djokovic fan usually, but I was impressed by his focus today, how he didn't let Nick distract him, and his graciousness when he won the trophy and how he shook everyone's hand including all the lines staff, grounds staff and ball kids. He definitely deserved the win today. I also enjoyed the tribute to Sue Barker who's retiring after hosting BBC coverage of Wimbledon for 30 years. 

Day 843 / Day 134 of no Legal Covid Requirements in England (for my record only)
I heard an interview many months ago on R4 by someone from one of the blood cancer charities, where you could tell they wanted to say more than they were. Since then I've looked out for stats on blood cancer and Covid and I read this in last weeks Mail on Sunday. It said that since January, c5% of Covid deaths have been in people with blood cancer per Blood Cancer UK. To put this into context, blood cancer patients represent less than 0.004% of the population. The article also gave details Evushield, the AZ drug approved by regulators in March, but which to date the Govt has refused to cover the £800 a dose cost. It has been found to reduce the chance of catching Covid by 80% and reduce hospitalisations and deaths by 50%. It is given by intravenous infusion every 6 months. It's thought that c500,000 are still are risk from Covid in the UK, primarily blood cancer and transplant patients who take medications that suppress the immune system (and that also make the vaccine less effective). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.