Wot, No Tennis?

One of the big benefits for me of being retired is to watch a lot of tennis from the Madrid Open through to Wimbledon. I don’t think this player would get far with that racquet, a weird grip and an outfit from history! I do feel a bit bereft when it’s all over, but there’s lots of things to catch up on. Today I cut down the wildflowers that have gone over, leaving the remains on the soil until the weekend to allow the seeds to drop. I also washed the car, which gets covered in a yellowish dust despite there being no rain. That was enough for me in this heat. I watched a delightful programme I’d recorded on BBC FOUR called The Golden Age of Steam Railways. The first episode was about the volunteers saving the narrow gauge railways and the second was about the volunteers setting up the heritage steam railways. Well done those volunteers, a great story. I should have driven to MK today so I could travel to Superbloom at the Tower of London tomorrow. I cancelled due to the high Covid levels, but it’s such a shame I haven’t been able to give away 2 adult tickets. And very disappointing not to meet up with friends and family, but I should catch up with them in Aug / Sept. A shame that Sajid Javid who resigned twice in a stand against bad behaviour in Cabinet, has withdrawn from the Tory leadership race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.